AvaWorld

成功懷孕

您在什麼時候最易受孕?

.

如果您想懷孕,您可能會想:什麼時候最易受孕? 您可能聽說過受孕期窗口。但是這個「窗口」究竟指什麼?確切指出它究竟有多重要? 簡短答案:您的受孕窗口期是指您每個月可以受孕的六天。精確找出受孕窗口期是懷孕的關鍵,因為在這些日子內,健康的精子可以使有活力的卵子受精。

在這裡,我們將回顧:您如何確定受孕日子,以及為什麼這樣做非常重要。

您在什麼時候最易受孕?

像生活中的許多事情一樣,當談到懷孕時,時間就是一切。在一般女性的月經週期中,有六天在性行為後可導致懷孕。在這些日子之中,排卵前五天和排卵日當天就是您的受孕日子。

受孕窗口期長達六天,因為精子可以在女性生殖道中存活長達五天。所以,如果您在排卵前的五天發生性行為,那麼精子就可以在您的輸卵管等候卵子,讓一顆優勢卵泡破裂並釋放出一顆卵子。如果您在排卵日做愛,精子和卵子就會在同一時間到達輸卵管。(但研究表示,當受孕發生在排卵日當天時,將更可能導致所謂的化學懷孕或損失。)

以下是您最易受孕的日子,按順序排列:

排卵前 2-3 天 20–30% 的受孕機率
排卵前 4 天 10–12% 的受孕機率
排卵日 10–12% 的受孕機率
排卵前 5-6 天 0-5% 的受孕機率

這裡要注意的重點是,您可以在排卵前五天和排卵日當天隨時懷孕。在您六天的受孕窗口期內,排卵前二至三天是您最易受孕的日子。

受孕日子大約在週期的第 14 天,對嗎?(不一定。)

實際情況是:月經週期長短不一。在 1910 年至 1960 年期間開始對月經週期有基本了解。當時的研究確定,平均週期長達 28 天,而排卵傾向在第 14 天發生。由於大家遵循這些既定規範,便很少對女性月經週期的變化進行研究。

但最近的研究,比如這項研究是一項深入的月經週期研究,其中研究了 184 名嘗試懷孕的女性,發現女性月經週期中存在變異性。本研究調查了 58 例非受孕期和 111 例妊娠月經週期。這項研究的結果與早期研究的某些觀點一致,例如女性週期平均長達約 28 天的結論。但這項研究顯示出著床發生的時間變異,以及排卵時間的變化。

所以,我只需要知道我什麼時候排卵,對吧?

好的,您想縮窄至排卵之前 2-3 天。這是一個挑戰,因為排卵可能因不同的女性而異,甚至從一個週期到另一個週期亦會不同。一項研究發現女性可在週期第 8 天到第 26 天的任何時間排卵。(這只是北卡羅來納州的一項小型研究,其中研究 221 名健康女性的月經週期。)

為什麼這點重要? 要指出這點很重要,因為長期以來,一直向女性灌輸排卵時間是在週期第 14 天左右。如果您查看大部分女性的平均排卵日期,事實的確如此。但將所有女性放入一個大桶並抽出一個平均數字時,這並不能告訴您什麼時候您 或其他人會何時排卵。

只有小部分女性在第 14 天排卵。

根據幾項研究,像這一項,只有小部分女性在第 14 天準時排卵。即使週期規律的女性也是如此。就週期不規律的女性來說,受孕窗口期甚至更難確定。因此,雖然第 14 天的平均值可用於估計一大群女性傾向排卵的時間,但當估計個別女性何時排卵時,卻沒有幫助。

大多數女性的受孕窗口期不落入臨床指引的時間(即週期第 10 天和第 17 天之間)。

同樣,多年來一直向女性灌輸排卵發生在週期第 14 天。但北卡羅來納州的研究發現排卵日期範圍很大,並發現大多數女性的受孕窗口期(超過 70%)並不完全落在該範圍內。下圖顯示該研究中女性記錄的受孕窗口期的全部分佈情況。

這是什麼意思? 即使您覺得自己有一個「正常」的月經週期,但有可能,甚至很可能您的受孕窗口期與臨床指引的時間完全不吻合

如果您想懷孕,就需要知道自己的受孕窗口期。

如果您的週期有規律,就容易受孕嗎? 錯。同一個研究發現,受孕窗口期可以在月經週期中一段較長期間內出現。好吧,如果很多女性超出 10 至 17 天的範圍,您可以延長範圍,對嗎? 假設您把這個範圍擴大至第 6 天和第 21 天,並在期間造愛。您可能會在這段日子內的受孕窗口期受孕,對嗎?

同樣,錯。同一個研究發現,在第 6 天和第 21 天之間的每一天,女性至少有 10% 的機會處於受孕窗口期,研究也指出使用臨床指引來估計排卵時間已經不合時宜。

教訓? 如果您只是猜測您的受孕窗口期,您可能會錯過受孕機會。

那麼,我究竟什麼時候排卵?

最重要的教訓:排卵是在每個月的一系列荷爾蒙事件發生後出現,但它展開的速度可能會有所不同。精確定位排卵(和您的受孕日子)差不多是一個猜謎遊戲,但有跡象表示您可以尋找,而追蹤您的週期可以有幫助。

我可以到哪裡找到更多關於排卵的資訊?

Ava 已經成為排卵科學和研究,以及如何確定受孕窗口期的專家。您會發現事實檢查的帖文可解釋:

即使您的週期規律,並不表示排卵也有規律。

當女性有「規律」的週期,即相隔約 28 天或一個月時間,當中假設她們定期排卵。(很多時候,她們的確是!) 但是,Jerilynn Prior 醫學博士是英屬哥倫比亞大學內分泌和代謝教授,她在其研究中指出所有女性的排卵變化很大。

Prior 醫學博士進行了廣泛的研究,對象是超過 3,100 名健康、月經定期的女性,年齡在 20-49.9 歲之間。她發現這些女性當中只有 63% 在測試週期中排卵,表示 37% 的女性沒有排卵,即是所謂的「無排卵」週期。她和其他研究作者得出結論,三分之一以上的臨床正常週期是沒有排卵(在隨機人群中)。

教訓? 「正常」長度的週期不一定表示這是個排卵週期。有時候,即使是健康和通常有月經的女性,也可能出現零星的沒有排卵週期;可能基於壓力、疾病或旅行等各種原因,使該週期沒有排卵。在大多數情況下,您無需擔心。

懷孕的關鍵是加長受孕日子

幸好,有許多可靠的方法可以針對您的受孕窗口期。以下是追蹤受孕日子的一些選擇:

   宮頸黏液 — 在排卵前幾天,您的宮頸黏液會開始變得很滑,類似蛋白。這是排卵的症狀,表示您可以受孕。當您看到像這樣的分泌時,請將它視為您處於受孕窗口期的體徵。

   排卵測試 — 一項排卵測試(亦稱為「排卵預測試劑套裝」,簡稱 (OPK) 可檢測尿液中黃體生成素 (LH) 是否存在及其濃度。在排卵前約 12-36 小時,LH 水平會激增。這種激增可以持續幾個小時至幾天。在確定排卵何時發生時,激增的長度並不重要,因為大多數女性在激增開始後傾向在約 24 小時後排卵。可惜,LH 測試不能告訴您這種激增剛剛開始還是接近尾聲。有嘗試受孕的問題? 當您獲得 LH 陽性測試結果時,排卵前可能已沒有太多(或任何)時間 – 您可能已經錯過了幾天最易受孕的日子,當中視乎您的 LH 激增時間。

   基礎體溫— 追蹤您的基礎體溫(或簡稱為 BBT)是另一個選擇。有了這個方法,您可以在每天早上起床或四處走動之前的同一時間量度體溫。您也要使用專門設計用於測量基礎體溫的特殊溫度計。BBT 方法的問題是您的基礎體溫在排卵後會上升。因此,一旦您發現體溫升高,那個週期的受孕窗口期就已經結束了。

   Ava— 這個穿戴式裝置經臨床證實可以實時檢測受孕窗口期何時開始。您每晚睡覺的時候都要戴上智能手環。Ava 使用機器學習和人工智能的專有算法,將您的週期知識與收集到的生理數據(像靜息脈搏率、呼吸率和皮膚溫度等參數)相結合,以準確預測您的受孕窗口期。

以下是 Ava 團隊開發的一些額外資源:

  • 我們的受孕計算器將帶您進行簡短的測驗(收集有關您的生活方式、健康狀況、週期和伴侶的數據),並為您提供一個需要多長時間懷孕的概略預測。
  • 在這裡,我們概述了受孕日曆,以助您確定最佳的做愛以受孕日子,當中得到研究證實。
  • 關於如何追蹤個人週期的概述,可以幫助您確定自己的受孕日子。
  • 解釋Ava 算法的運作原理。

Lindsay Meisel

Lindsay Meisel is the Head of Content at Ava. She has over a decade of experience writing about science, technology, and health, with a focus on women's health and the menstrual cycle. Her work has been featured on The Fertility Hour, The Birth Hour, The Breakthrough Journal, and The Rumpus.

Related posts

Related posts

繼續流覽本站,將表示您同意我們對cookies的使用。 更多信息 接受

This site is using first and third party cookies to be able to adapt the advertising based on your preferences. If you want to know more or modify your settings, click here. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies.

AvaWorld

Getting Pregnant

When Are You Most Fertile? How to Find Your Best Time to Get Pregnant.

.

If you’re trying to get pregnant, you might be wondering when you’re most fertile. The short answer: Your fertile window is the name for the six-day range each month that you can conceive. Pinpointing it accurately is the key to getting pregnant, as these are the days that a healthy sperm can fertilize a viable egg.

Here, we will review: how to pinpoint your fertile days and why it’s essential to do so.

When are you most fertile?

Like many things in life, when it comes to getting pregnant—timing is everything. During the average woman’s menstrual cycle, there are six days when sex can result in a pregnancy. These days, the five days before ovulation and the day of ovulation itself, are your fertile days.

The fertile window extends for six days because sperm can live for up to five days in the female reproductive tract. So, if you have sex in those five days pre-ovulation, the sperm can wait it out in your fallopian tubes for a dominant follicle to rupture and release an egg. Or, if you have sex on ovulation day, the sperm and egg can arrive in the fallopian tubes around the same time. (Though research has shown that when conception occurs on ovulation day itself, it is more likely to result in a what’s called a chemical pregnancy or a loss.)

Here are your most fertile days, ranked in order:

2-3 days before ovulation 20 – 30 percent chance of conception
4 days before ovulation
10 – 12 percent chance of conception
ovulation day
10 – 12 percent chance of conception
5-6 days before ovulation
0 – 5 percent chance of conception


The most important thing to note here is that you can conceive anytime during the five days before ovulation and on ovulation day itself. Within your six-day fertile window, the two to three days before ovulation are your most fertile.

The fertile days are around cycle day 14 right? (Not necessarily.)

The reality is: menstrual cycle lengths vary. The basic understanding of the menstrual cycle was developed between 1910 and 1960. And at that time, research established that the average cycle was 28-days long and ovulation tended to occur on day 14. And following those established norms, little research was conducted on the variability of women’s menstrual cycles.

But more recent research, like this study—an extensive menstrual cycle study which examined 184 women attempting to conceive—uncovered the variabilities that exist in the female menstrual cycle. This study looked at 58 nonconceptive and 111 pregnancy menstrual cycles. The results of this study were consistent with earlier research on some points, such as the conclusion that the average length of woman’s cycle was about 28 days. But what this study uncovered was that there was variation among when implantation occurred, as well as variation in when ovulation happened.

So, I just need to know when I’m ovulating, right?

Well, what you really want to narrow in on is the 2-3 days before ovulation. And what makes that a challenge is that ovulation can vary from woman to woman and even from cycle to cycle. One study found that women ovulated anywhere from cycle day 8 cycle day 26. (And this was just one small study in North Carolina that examined 221 healthy women for one menstrual cycle.)

Why does this matter? It’s important to point out because women have long been told that ovulation happens on or around day 14. And if you look at ovulation dates across a large group of women on average, it does. But lumping all women into one bucket and spitting out an average number doesn’t tell you anything about when you, or anyone else individually, will ovulate.

Only a small percentage of women ovulate on day 14

According to several studies, like this one, only a small percentage of women ovulate exactly on day 14. This is true even for women who have regular cycles. For women with irregular cycles, the fertile window is even trickier to pinpoint. So, while the day 14 average is useful for estimating when women—as a population—tend to ovulate, it’s not very helpful for pinpointing when a woman—as an individual—ovulates.

Most women’s fertile window falls outside the clinical guidelines (that is, between cycle days 10 and 17)

Again, for years, women have been told that ovulation happens around cycle day 14. But the North Carolina study found a wide range in ovulation dates and discovered that most women’s fertile windows (over 70%) didn’t fall entirely within that range. This chart below shows the full distribution of the fertile windows recorded among the women in the study.

 

What does this mean? Even if you feel that you have a “normal” menstrual cycle, it is quite possible—perhaps even likely, that your fertile window will not fall entirely within the clinical guidelines.

If you want to get pregnant, you need to know your fertile window

If you have a regular cycle, this is easy—right? Wrong. That same study found that the fertile window occurred during a broad range of days in the menstrual cycle. OK, well, if a lot of women fall outside of that 10 to 17-day range, you can just extend it, right? Let’s say you broaden that range to having sex between days 6 and 21. You’re likely to be in your fertile window during those days, right?

Again—wrong. The same study found that on every day between days 6 and 21, women had at minimum a 10% probability of being in their fertile window, and pointed out that using the clinical guidelines to estimate ovulation is outdated.

The takeaway? If you’re just guessing at your fertile window, it’s possible you’ll miss it.

So, when do I ovulate?

Most important takeaway: ovulation follows a series of hormonal events that happen each month, but the pace at which it unfolds can vary. Pinpointing ovulation (and your fertile days) is a bit of a guessing game, but there are signs you can look for, and tracking your cycle can help.

Where can I find out more about ovulation?

Here at Ava, we’ve become experts in the science of and research about ovulation, and how to pinpoint the fertile window. You’ll find fact-checked posts that explain:

Even if you have a regular cycle, this doesn’t mean you have regular ovulation

When women have “regular” cycles, which are about 28-days or a month apart, the assumption is that they are ovulating regularly. (And many times, they are!) But Dr. Jerilynn Prior, Professor of Endocrinology and Metabolism at the University of British Columbia, points out in her research that ovulation is highly variable for all women.

Dr. Prior authored an extensive study of over 3,100 healthy, regularly menstruating women between the ages of 20 and 49.9, which found that only 63% of these women ovulated during the cycle that was tested, meaning that 37% of them did not ovulate and had what’s known as an anovulatory cycle. She and the other study authors concluded that anovulation (in a random population) occurs in over a third of clinically normal cycles.

The takeaway? A “normal” length cycle doesn’t necessarily mean that it was an ovulatory cycle. Sometimes, even healthy, normally menstruating women can have a sporadic nonovulatory cycle, meaning that ovulation didn’t occur that month for any variety of reasons—stress, illness, or travel to name a few possibilities. And in most cases, it’s nothing to worry about.

The key to getting pregnant is to zoom in on your fertile days

The good news is, there are a number of reliable ways to narrow in on your fertile window. Here are some options for tracking fertile days:

Cervical mucus

A few days prior to ovulation, your cervical mucus will begin to become slippery, resembling egg whites. This is a symptom of ovulation and a sign that you are fertile. When you see discharge looking like this, take it as a sign that you’re in your fertile window.

Ovulation tests

An ovulation test (also called an OPK for “ovulation predictor kit”) detects the concentration and presence of luteinizing hormone (LH) in your urine. Around 12-36 hours prior to ovulation, there’s a surge in LH levels. This surge can last anywhere from a couple of hours to a couple of days. The length of the surge isn’t important in determining when ovulation happens, as most women tend to ovulate about 24 hours after the surge begins. Unfortunately, LH tests can’t tell you if your surge just began or if it’s nearing the end. The problem for TTC? By the time you get a positive LH test, there may not be much (or any) time left before ovulation—and you may have missed some of your most fertile days already, depending on the timing of your LH surge.

Basal body temperature

Tracking your basal body temperature (or BBT) is another option. With this method, you take your temperature at the same time each morning—before you get out of bed or move around at all. You also need to use a special thermometer specifically designed to measure basal body temperature. The problem with the BBT method is that your basal body temperature rises after ovulation. So once you detect that temperature increase, your fertile window for that cycle has already closed.

Ava Bracelet

This wearable device is clinically proven to detect the very beginning of the fertile window—in real time, as it happens. You wear the bracelet each night while you sleep.  Ava’s proprietary algorithm uses machine learning and artificial intelligence, combining knowledge of your cycle with the physiological data collected (parameters like resting pulse rate, breathing rate and skin temperature, to name a few) to predict your fertile window accurately.

Here are some additional resources that the team at Ava has developed:

  • Our fertility calculator will take you through a brief quiz (gathering data about your lifestyle, health, cycle, and partner), and will give you a ballpark figure for how long it will take you to get pregnant.
  • Here, we’ve outlined a fertility calendar, that will help you identify the best days to have sex to get pregnant, backed by research.
  • An overview of how tracking your cycle can help you pinpoint your fertile days.
  • An explanation of how the Ava algorithm works.

View sources

Post-ovulatory ageing of the human oocyte and embryo failure

Lindsay Meisel

Lindsay Meisel is the Head of Content at Ava. She has over a decade of experience writing about science, technology, and health, with a focus on women's health and the menstrual cycle. Her work has been featured on The Fertility Hour, The Birth Hour, The Breakthrough Journal, and The Rumpus.

Related posts

Related posts

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More information Accept

This site is using first and third party cookies to be able to adapt the advertising based on your preferences. If you want to know more or modify your settings, click here. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies.