AvaWorld

生理週期

我需要追蹤月經週期嗎?(追蹤第五個生命體徵可以學到的 8 件事)

一位朋友的女兒去年 12 歲時開始有經期。第一次來經亦稱為月經初潮,在差不多結束時,她抬頭看著母親,翻了個白眼,不自禁地呻吟。

她說:「我不敢相信這種情況每年都發生。」

媽媽回答說:全對,是每月。她卻聽到年。

是的,經期可能會令人不舒服、令人煩厭,也是令人沮喪的禁忌。但女性比過去任何時候,都更關注自己的月經週期。如果您最近閱讀雜誌或瀏覽網上新聞,便可能會注意到,大家都在談追蹤經期。

但除了讓您知道什麼時候穿黑褲而不是白褲之外,追蹤週期真的有用嗎?

簡短的回答? 是

事實上,研究人員和醫護人員的基層運動認為,女性月經週期長期被忽視,在科學研究方面臭名昭著,但它卻是整體健康的「第五大重要體徵」。(在 1993 年之前,法律並無要求將女性納入臨床研究中。)

現在,我們將回顧您從追蹤第五個生命體徵可以學到的 8 件事。

1. 了解您獨特的週期長度和模式

您有正常的週期嗎? 當然,答案視乎您如何定義「正常」。月經週期的長度是從一個週期月經出血的第一天到下一個週期月經開始之間的天數。月經週期的中位持續時間為 28 天,大多數週期長度在 25 至 30 天之間。

首先,使用以下圖像快速概覽,以助您了解週期的各個階段。

但女性人口的平均「正常」與您個人的正常基本上沒有關係。當您的工作壓力很大或出外旅遊時,您的期經是否會遲遲不來? (很多女性都這樣。)

如果您的週期不規律,則表示您的經期在短於或長於 28 天左右來一次。您是否有任何潛在問題需要解決?

追蹤您的週期可以幫助您確定什麼是「正常」。

2. 發現與您的週期吻合的身體症狀

在您週期的特定階段中,您是否感到特別肚餓?

與月經週期的卵泡期相比,許多女性發現她們在黃體期更加肚餓,而一些研究也支持這個假設:女性在黃體期時往往攝取更多熱量。

為什麼? 研究(像這篇在歐洲營養雜誌上發表的研究)表示 ,黃體酮可能在週期中刺激食慾,而雌激素則可能抑制食慾。

您是否傾向出現與週期相關的腸胃問題? 很多女人都是這樣。根據發表於 BMC Women’s Health 的這份研究,73% 參與研究的女性在來經前或期間曾經歷一次重大腸胃疾病:腹痛、腹瀉或便秘。

3. 在週期的不同階段檢測可能出現的情緒變化

長期以來,大家一直認為雌激素與情緒有關,多位科學家已花了 50 多年研究月經週期與心理健康之間的關係。但有很多事情我們仍然未能破解。

這是我們所知道的:

  • 杏仁體、海馬體和大腦的其他部分與調節情緒息息相關,並一直對雌激素等性荷爾蒙波動水平表現敏感。

雖然調節情緒和荷爾蒙波動之間的確切關係仍然未明,但我們確實知道當中存在某種聯繫。

追蹤您的週期可以幫助您了解各個週期的模式和連繫。您在月經來臨前幾天是否會感到焦慮? 如果是,您可以調節一下,確保自己有充分的休息,盡量減輕壓力,或在該期間好好照顧自己。

知識就是力量,當您知道自己身處月經週期時,便可以更加了解身體或情緒模式。當您了解食慾或情緒變化背後的原因時,就自然可以更有效應對。

4. 了解潛在的可能健康問題

您有大量出血嗎? 錯過了經期嗎? 您可能需要檢查腹痛或其他問題嗎? 當然這並不是每個人都面對的情況,但追蹤週期可以幫助您確定任何身體不適或疼痛是否與月經週期有關。

它還可以幫助您確定自己是否正在排卵。很多女性認為,如果她們的週期大約是 28 天,那麼她們就會排卵。但情況並非總是如此,因為可能出現突破性出血。Jerilynn Prior 醫學博士是英屬哥倫比亞大學內分泌和代謝教授,她在其研究中指出所有女性的排卵變化很大。

Prior 醫學博士進行了廣泛的研究,對象是超過 3,100 名健康、月經定期的女性,年齡在 20-49.9 歲之間。她發現這些女性當中只有 63% 在測試週期中排卵,表示 37% 的女性沒有排卵,即曰是所謂的「無排卵」週期。

5. 收集您可以向醫生提供的數據

當您記錄週期的每日數據及身體和情緒健康時,您便擁有一個小型數據庫,以便向您的醫療人員提供。

6. 知道自己何時進入受孕窗口期

越來越多女性轉向使用經期追蹤工具來確定自己的受孕窗口期

如果您為此目的而追蹤經期,請確保選擇經臨床證實有效的經期追蹤器,因為美國家庭醫學委員會雜誌發表的研究表明,有部分產品尚未經證實有效。(請查看我們關於排卵追蹤器的全文。)

此外,當談到懷孕時,市面有很多錯誤資訊。請在此了解生育事實

7. 盡量提升體能

研究人員開始了解月經週期如何影響體能。研究表明,在黃體期和月經初期,女性運動損傷的發生率會增加。另一項研究發現,嚴重月經出血與精英運動員的貧血、補鐵和較慢表現有關。

業界需要進行更多研究,以了解這項發現對於不是精英運動員的女性是否有意義,但透過記錄自己的數據,您可以確定這些因素是否與您相關。

8. 計劃在您感覺最好的時候參與重大活動

一些女性在月經週期中受到精神上(焦慮、情緒波動、難以睡眠)或身體上(腹脹、痙攣、大量出血)的影響。她們想更確切知道自己充滿挑戰的月經週期何時來臨,以便預先計劃。

但有多少女性受到週期的負面影響,以致難以工作或參與社交活動? 比您想像的更多。嚴重疼痛和大量出血會影響約三分之一的女性。根據這項由北歐婦產科學會聯合會進行的研究,在接受調查的 1,547 名女性中:

  • 32% 出現大量出血

而她們當中:

  • 接近 25% 的人表示她們因為出血而不參加社交活動
  • 超過 90% 的人表示她們覺得非常麻煩
  • 16% 表示她們因此需要請假休息

我們還在深入了解月經週期。在女性生殖健康方面,我們仍然與長期存在的謬誤和文化禁忌努力鬥爭。在 Ava,我們的使命是為女性提供有關其生殖健康的最新資訊。加入我們

想了解更多?


Lindsay Meisel

Lindsay Meisel is the Head of Content at Ava. She has over a decade of experience writing about science, technology, and health, with a focus on women's health and the menstrual cycle. Her work has been featured on The Fertility Hour, The Birth Hour, The Breakthrough Journal, and The Rumpus.

Related posts

Related posts

繼續流覽本站,將表示您同意我們對cookies的使用。 更多信息 接受

This site is using first and third party cookies to be able to adapt the advertising based on your preferences. If you want to know more or modify your settings, click here. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies.

AvaWorld

Reproductive Health

Do I Need A Period Tracker? (8 Things You Can Learn From Your Fifth Vital Sign)

A friend’s daughter got her period last year at 12 years old. As her first menstrual period—known as menarche—came to an end, she looked up at her mother, rolled her eyes and groaned.

“I cannot believe this happens every year,” she said.

That’s right: Mom said month. She heard year.

Yes, periods can be uncomfortable, annoying, and frustratingly taboo. But more than ever before, women are paying attention to their menstrual cycles. If you’ve picked up a magazine or scrolled through your news feed recently, you’ve probably noticed: period tracking is a thing.

But other than letting you know when to wear black pants instead of white, is tracking your cycle really beneficial?

The short answer? Yes.

In fact, there’s a grassroots movement of researchers and healthcare providers who believe that the female menstrual cycle—long ignored and notoriously under-researched in scientific studies—is the “fifth vital sign” of overall health. (It wasn’t required by law that women be included in clinical studies until 1993.)

Here, we’ll review 8 things you can learn from tracking your fifth vital sign.

1. Learn your unique cycle length and patterns

Do you have a normal cycle? This answer, of course, depends on how you define “normal.” The length of a menstrual cycle is the number of days between the first day of menstrual bleeding of one cycle to the onset of menses of the next cycle. And the median duration of a menstrual cycle is 28 days with most cycle lengths between 25 to 30 days.

First, a quick visual overview of the phases of your cycle.

But what’s “normal” on average for a population of women is pretty irrelevant to what’s normal for you. Do you tend to have a delayed period when you’re extra stressed at work or travel overseas? (Lots of women do.)

If your cycle is irregular, meaning that it occurs more or less frequently than about every 28 or so days, do you have an underlying issue that needs to be addressed?

Keeping track of your cycle can help you determine what’s “normal” for you.

2. Discover physical symptoms that dovetail with your cycle

Are you hungrier during a particular phase of your cycle?

Many women find that they are hungrier during the luteal phase compared to the follicular phase of the menstrual cycle, and several studies have supported the hypothesis that women tend to have higher caloric intake during the luteal phase.

Why? Studies (like this one published in the European Journal of Nutrition) suggest that progesterone may stimulate, and estrogen may suppress, appetite during the cycle.

Do you tend to have a pattern of gastrointestinal issues that are tied to your cycle?

Many women do. According to this study, published in BMC Women’s Health, 73% of the women studied experienced one of the primary GI complaints either just before or during their period: abdominal pain, diarrhea, or constipation.

3. Detect possible mood changes at different phases of your cycle

It’s long been understood that estrogen is linked to mood, and scientists have been studying the connection between the menstrual cycle and psychological wellbeing for over 50 years. But there is still so much that we don’t know.

Here’s what we do know:

  • The amygdala, hippocampus and other parts of the brain involved in mood regulation, and have consistently demonstrated sensitivity to fluctuating levels of sex hormones such as estrogen.

Although the exact relationship between mood regulation and fluctuating hormones is not well understood, we do know that there’s a connection somehow.

Tracking your cycle can help you understand patterns and connections that are valuable for you, individually. Do you tend to get anxious several days before your period comes? If so, you can adjust for that, making sure you get extra rest, reduce stress as much as possible, or schedule self-care during that time.

Knowledge is power, and when you know where you are in your menstrual cycle, you can be more aware of physical or emotional patterns. When you understand the why behind your appetite or mood changes, you become empowered, and can be much better equipped to handle the how.

4. Be aware of potential underlying health issues

Do you have heavy bleeding? Missed periods? Abdominal pain or other issues you may need to have checked out? This certainly isn’t the case for everyone, but tracking your cycle can help you determine whether any physical discomfort or pain might be connected to your menstrual cycle.

It can also help you determine whether or not you’re ovulating. Many women assume that if their cycle is around 28-days, they are ovulating. But that isn’t always the case, since it’s possible to have breakthrough bleeding.  Dr. Jerilynn Prior, Professor of Endocrinology and Metabolism at the University of British Columbia, points out in her research that ovulation is highly variable for all women.

Dr. Prior authored an extensive study of over 3,100 healthy, regularly menstruating women between the ages of 20 and 49.9, which found that only 63% of these women ovulated during the cycle that was tested, meaning that 37% of them did not ovulate and had what’s known as an “anovulatory” cycle.

5. Collect data that you can provide your doctor

When you’re recording daily data on your cycle and your physical and emotional health—you’ll have a little database of information to pass along to your healthcare provider.

6. Know when you’re in your fertile window

Increasingly, women are turning to period tracking tools to determine their fertile window.

If you do use period tracking for this purpose, make sure you pick one that’s been clinically proven to be effective, as studies, like this one from the Journal of the American Board of Family Medicine, have shown that some are not. (Check out our full post on ovulation trackers.)

Also, when it comes to getting pregnant, there’s a lot of misinformation out there—learn the fertility facts.

7. Maximize your physical performance

Researchers are beginning to understand how the menstrual cycle might affect physical performance. Studies have shown that there is an increased incidence of female athletic injuries during the luteal phase and the first days of the menstrual period. Another study also found that heavy menstrual bleeding was associated with anemia, iron supplementation and slower performance time in elite athletes.

More research needs to be conducted to understand whether this is meaningful for women who are not elite athletes, but by recording your own data, you can determine whether these factors are relevant to you.

8. Plan your major events for times when you’ll feel your best

Some women who are significantly affected either mentally (anxiety, mood swings, trouble sleeping) or physically (bloating, cramps, heavy bleeding) by their menstrual cycles, like to know precisely when their more challenging menstrual cycle phase is coming so that they can plan ahead.

But how many women are negatively impacted by their cycle to the point where it’s difficult to work or socialize?

More than you may think. Severe pain and heavy bleeding affect about one-third of women. According to this study by the Nordic Federation of Societies of Obstetrics and Gynecology, which examined 1,547 women:

  • 32% had heavy bleeding

And of those women:

  • Almost 25% said they refrain from social activities because of bleeding
  • Over 90% said they find it to be bothersome
  • 16% said they take time off of work because of it

We’re still learning so much the menstrual cycle. When it comes to women’s reproductive health, we are still fighting an uphill battle against long-standing myths and cultural taboos. Here at Ava, it is our mission to empower women with the most up-to-date information about their reproductive health. Join us.

Want to learn more?

Related posts

Related posts

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information Accept

This site is using first and third party cookies to be able to adapt the advertising based on your preferences. If you want to know more or modify your settings, click here. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies.